top of page
Anchor 1
The Pace SBDC helps small businesses secure Minority and Women-Owned Business Enterprise (MWBE) certification from NYC, NYS, & the Port Authority, and provide support for businesses seeking to secure 8(a) certification through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned certification through New York State.
NYS Certified Minority or Women-Owned Business Enterprise (MWBE)
  • New York State MWBE Certification: Administered by the Empire State Development's (ESD) Division of Minority and Women's Business Development, this program extends Minority and Women Owned Business Enterprise (MWBE) designation to business enterprises that are at least fifty-one percent (51%) owned, operated and controlled, independently of any other business, by one or more minority or women-owners. The NYS MWBE program encourages and assists state agencies to award a fair share of contracts to MWBEs, and promotes the business development of MWBEs through education and outreach to NYS agencies and MWBEs. Check out the NYS MWBE Certification Assessment Tool to see if this designation may be relevant for your firm. 

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE)
NYS Certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Business
  • New York State Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business Certification: Administered by NYS' Office of General Services, this program was established by the Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Business Act with a six percent goal for participation on state contracts by service-disabled veteran-owned firms. Eligibility requirements include ownership by one or more service-disabled veterans with a service-connected disability rating of ten percent or greater of at least fifty-one percent of the business; and that it is an independently owned and operated business enterprise with no more than three hundred employees and a significant business presence in the state of New York. Check out the FAQ document for more details.

bottom of page