top of page
Anchor 1
The Pace SBDC helps small businesses secure certifications at the local, state, and federal level and compete for procurement opportunities using these certifications to their advantage.
Small Business Administration (SBA) Programs

To be considered for one of the below federal certification programs and bid on government contracts, small businesses must register through By registering the business will be assigned a Unique Entity ID, a 12-character alphanumeric identifier used in and other federal government systems as a way to identify a unique entity.

Click here to review the information needed to prepare for your entity registration.

Small Disadvantaged Business Program
  • Small Disadvantaged Business Program: This program gives a competitive edge to small businesses that are at least 51% owned and controlled by one or more both socially and economically disadvantaged individuals. Businesses must also qualify as small according to the SBA's size standards. Businesses who meet criteria for this program can self certify on

Women-Owned Small Business (WOSB) & Economically Disadvantaged Women-Owned Small Business (EDWOSB) Program
  • WOSB & EDWOSB Program: This program gives a competitive advantage and the opportunity to compete for exclusive, set-aside procurement opportunities to small businesses in specified industries (NAICS codes) who meet the SBA's size standards To be eligible the business must be at least 51% owned by women who are U.S. citizens, and women must manage day-to-day operations and make long-term decisions within the business. Additionally. for EDWOSB, businesses must meet all prior requirements and fall within the owner income requirements set by the SBA. Click here to get started on compiling required documents

Historically Underutilized Business Zone (HUBZone) Program
  • HUBZone Program: This program is for small businesses with a primary office located within a designated HUBZone and a workforce where at least 35% of employees live within a designated HUBZone. This certification will give small businesses an advantage during the bid process and makes your business eligible to compete for the program’s set-aside contracts. HUBZone-certified businesses also get a 10% price evaluation preference in full and open contract competitions.

8(a) Business Development Program
  • 8(a) Business Development Program: This nine-year program enables small businesses who meet SBA size standards and are at least 51% owned and controlled by socially and economically disadvantaged individuals who are U.S. citizens to seek and secure sole-source contracts directly from Federal agencies. Business owners must not have previously participated in the program, must demonstrate good character & the potential for success, and must fall below the SBA's maximum net worth and income standards.

Other Federal Agency Programs

Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned (SDVOSB) & Veteran-Owned Small Business (VOSB) Program

Not sure if certification is right for your business? Looking to level-up your procurement strategy with no-cost, one-on-one advice?

Make an appointment with a Pace SBDC Business Advisor.

bottom of page